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GENERAL PERMIT CONDITIONS

TERMINATION OF PERMIT TO INSTALL 

Substantial construction for installation must take place within
18 months of the effective date of this permit.  This deadline
may be extended by up to 12 months if application is made to the
Director within a reasonable time before the termination date and
the party shows good cause for any such extension.

NOTICE OF INSPECTION

The Director of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, or his
authorized representatives, may enter upon the premises of the
above-named applicant during construction and operation at any
reasonable time for the purpose of making inspections, conducting
tests, or to examine records or reports pertaining to the
construction, modification or installation of the source(s) of
environmental pollutants identified within this permit.

CONSTRUCTION OF NEW SOURCES

The proposed source(s) shall be constructed in strict accordance
with the plans and application submitted for this permit to the
Director of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency.  There may
be no deviation from the approved plans without the express,
written approval of the Agency.  Any deviations from the approved
plans or the above conditions may lead to such sanctions and
penalties as provided under Ohio law.  Approval of these plans
does not constitute an assurance that the proposed facilities
will operate in compliance with all Ohio laws and regulations. 
Additional facilities shall be installed upon orders of the Ohio
Environmental Protection Agency if the proposed sources are
inadequate or cannot meet applicable standards.

If the construction of the proposed source(s) has already begun
or has been completed prior to the date the Director of the
Environmental Protection Agency approves the permit application
and plans, the approval does not constitute expressed or implied
assurance that the proposed facility has been constructed in
accordance with the approved plans.  The action of beginning
and/or completing construction prior to obtaining the Director's
approval constitutes a violation of Ohio Administrative Code
(OAC) Rule 3745-31-02. Furthermore, issuance of the Permit to
Install does not constitute an assurance that the proposed source
will operate in compliance with all Ohio laws and regulations. 
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Approval of the plans in any case is not to be construed as an
approval of the facility as constructed and/or completed.
Moreover, issuance of the Permit to Install is not to be
construed as a waiver of any rights that the Ohio Environmental
Protection Agency (or other persons) may have against the
applicant for starting construction prior to the effective date
of the permit.  Additional facilities shall be installed upon
orders of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency if the
proposed facilities cannot meet applicable standards.

PERMIT TO INSTALL FEE

In accordance with Ohio Revised Code 3745.11, the specified
Permit to Install fee must be remitted within 30 days of the
effective date of this permit to install. 

PUBLIC DISCLOSURE

The facility is hereby notified that this permit, and all agency
records concerning the operation of this permitted source, are
subject to public disclosure in accordance with OAC Rule 3745-49-
03.

APPLICABILITY

This Permit to Install is applicable only to the contaminant
sources identified.  Separate application must be made to the
Director for the installation or modification of any other
contaminant sources.

BEST AVAILABLE TECHNOLOGY

As specified in OAC Rule 3745-31-05, all new sources must employ
Best Available Technology (BAT).  Compliance with the terms and
conditions of this permit will fulfill this requirement.

PERMIT TO OPERATE APPLICATION

A Permit to Operate application must be submitted to the
appropriate field office for each air contaminant source in this
Permit to Install.  In accordance with OAC Rule 3745-35-02, the
application shall be filed no later than thirty days after
commencement of operation.
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SOURCE OPERATION AFTER COMPLETION OF CONSTRUCTION

This facility is permitted to operate each source described by
this permit to install for a period of up to one year from the
date the source commenced operation.  This permission to operate
is granted only if the facility complies with all requirements
contained in this permit and all applicable air pollution laws
and regulations.
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AIR EMISSION SUMMARY

The air contaminant emissions units listed below comprise the
Permit to Install for Elano Corporation located in Greene County. 
The emissions units listed below shall not exceed the emission
limits/control requirements contained in the table. This
condition in no way limits the applicability of any other state
or federal regulations.  Additionally, this condition does not
limit the applicability of additional special terms and
conditions of this permit.

Ohio
EPA

Source
Number

P031

Source
Identification
Description

Wax meltout
furnace

BAT
Determination

          *

Applicable
Federal &
OAC Rules

3745-17-09

3745-31-05

3745-17-07(A)

Permit Allowable
Mass Emissions

and/or
Control/Usage
Requirements

0.10 lb/100 lbs
salvageable
material
charged;

0.26 lb/hour and
0.47 TPY
particulate;

0.33 lb/hour and
0.59 TPY
nitrogen oxides
(NOX);

0.05 lb/hour and
0.09 TPY carbon
monoxide (CO);

1.17 lbs/hour
and 2.11 TPY
organic
compounds (OC);

5% opacity
visible
emissions, as a
six-minute
average;

less stringent
than opacity
limit above
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* BAT is compliance with applicable OAC rules and specified
allowable mass emission rates; 5% opacity visible emission
limitation; use of an afterburner with continuous
temperature monitoring and recording; annual hours of
operation restriction; recordkeeping; reporting.

SUMMARY
TOTAL PERMIT TO INSTALL ALLOWABLE EMISSIONS

Pollutant

particulates
nitrogen oxides
carbon monoxide
organic compounds

Tons/Year

0.47
0.59
0.09
2.11

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

Unless otherwise specified, reports required by the Permit to
Install need only be submitted to Regional Air Pollution Control,
451 West Third Street, P.O. Box 972, Dayton, Ohio 45422.

MAINTENANCE OF EQUIPMENT

This source and its associated air pollution control system(s)
shall be maintained regularly in accordance with good engineering
practices and the recommendations of the respective manufacturers
in order to minimize air contaminant emissions.

MALFUNCTION/ABATEMENT

In accordance with OAC RULE 3745-15-06, any malfunction of the
source(s) or associated air pollution control system(s) shall be
reported immediately to the Regional Air Pollution Control, 451
West Third Street, P.O. Box 972, Dayton, Ohio 45422.

Except as provided by OAC Rule 3745-15-06(A)(3), scheduled
maintenance  of air pollution control equipment that requires the
shutdown or bypassing of air pollution control system(s) must be
accompanied by the shutdown of the associated air pollution
sources.
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AIR POLLUTION NUISANCES PROHIBITED

The air contaminant source(s) identified in this permit may not
cause a public nuisance in violation of OAC Rule 3745-15-07.

CONSTRUCTION COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATION

The applicant shall provide Ohio EPA with a written certification
(see enclosed form) that the facility has been constructed in
accordance with the Permit to Install application and the terms and
conditions of the Permit to Install.  The certification shall be
provided to Ohio EPA upon completion of construction but prior to
startup of the source.

ADDITIONAL SPECIAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS

A. Additional Special Terms and Conditions

1. The 0.26 lb particulate/hour, 0.33 lb Nox/hour, 0.05 lb
CO/hour, and 1.17 lbs OC/hour limitations are being
developed for PTI purposes to reflect the potential to
emit for this emissions unit.  Therefore, it is not
necessary to establish recordkeeping and/or reporting
requirements in order to ensure compliance with these
limits.

B. Operational Restrictions

1. The temperature of the afterburner of the wax meltout
furnace shall be maintained at 1500 degrees Fahrenheit or
greater during each burn off cycle.

2. The maximum annual operating hours for this emissions
unit shall not exceed 3600 hours.

C. Monitoring and/or RecordKeeping Requirements

1. The permittee shall operate and maintain a continuous
temperature monitor and recorder which measures and
records the temperature, in degrees Fahrenheit, of the
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afterburner of the wax meltout furnace during each burn
off cycle.  The temperature monitor and recorder shall be
installed, calibrated, operated and maintained in
accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations with
any modifications deemed necessary by the permittee.  The
monitoring and recording devices shall be capable of
accurately measuring the desired parameter.

2. The permittee shall maintain a log of all periods of time
when the emissions unit is in operation and the
afterburner temperature was less than 1500 degrees
Fahrenheit.

3. The permittee shall maintain monthly records of the
operating hours for this emissions unit.

4. Each record of any monitoring data, testing data, and
support information required pursuant to this permit
shall be retained for a period of five years from the
date the record was created.  Support information shall
include, but not be limited to, all calibration and
maintenance records and all original strip-chart
recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation, and
copies of all reports required by the permit.  Such
records may be maintained in computerized form.

D. Reporting Requirements

1. The permittee shall notify the Director (Regional Air
Pollution Control) in writing of any record of deviation
of the afterburner below 1500 degrees Fahrenheit, as well
as the corrective action(s) taken.  The notification
shall include a copy of such record and shall be
submitted to the Director (Regional Air Pollution
Control) within 45 days after the deviation occurs.

2. The permittee shall submit annual reports which identify
any exceedances of the annual operating hours limitation,
as well as the corrective actions that were taken to
achieve compliance.  These reports shall be submitted by
January 31 of each year.
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E. Testing Requirements

1. Compliance with the emission limitation(s) in these terms
and conditions shall be determined in accordance with the
following method(s):

a. Emission Limitation - 
0.10 lb particulate/100 lbs salvageable material
charged

Applicable Compliance Method -
If required, compliance with this mass emission
limitation shall be determined through stack
testing in accordance with OAC rule 3745-17-
03(B)(8).

b. Emission Limitation -
0.26 lb/hour particulate

Applicable Compliance Method -
Compliance shall be determined as the sum of the
following: (i) particulate emissions from
combustion shall be the maximum hourly LPG usage
(23.5 gallons/hour) by the AP-42 emission factor
for LPG propane combustion 0.4 lb particulate/1000
gallons of LPG.
(ii) particulate emissions from furnace loading
shall be the maximum hourly furnace loading
capacity (246 lbs/hour) multiplied by the allowable
emission limit of 0.10 lb particulate/100 lbs
charged.
(iii) the total hourly particulate emissions shall
be the sum of (i) and (ii) above.

c. Emission Limitation -
0.47 TPY particulate

Applicable Compliance Method -
Compliance shall be determined by multiplying the
hourly particulate limit of 0.26 lb/hour by the
annual hours of operation, divided by 2,000 pounds
per ton.
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d. Emission Limitation -
0.33 lb/hour nitrogen oxides

Applicable Compliance Method -
Compliance shall be determined by multiplying the
maximum hourly LPG usage (23.5 gallons/hour) by the
AP-42 emission factor for LPG propane combustion 14
lbs nitrogen oxides/1000 gallons of LPG.

  
e. Emission Limitation -

0.59 TPY nitrogen oxides

Applicable Compliance Method -
Compliance shall be determined by multiplying the
hourly particulate limit of 0.33 lb/hour by the
annual hours of operation, divided by 2,000 pounds
per ton.

f. Emission Limitation -
0.05 lb/hour carbon monoxide

Applicable Compliance Method -
Compliance shall be determined by multiplying the
maximum hourly LPG usage (23.5 gallons/hour) by the
AP-42 emission factor for LPG propane combustion
1.9 lb carbon monoxide/1000 gallons of LPG.

g. Emission Limitation -
0.09 TPY carbon monoxide

Applicable Compliance Method -
Compliance shall be determined by multiplying the
hourly particulate limit of 0.05 lb/hour by the
annual hours of operation, divided by 2,000 pounds
per ton.

h. Emission Limitation -
1.17 lbs/hour organic compounds

Applicable Compliance Method -
Compliance shall be determined as the sum of the
following: (i) organic emissions from combustion
shall be the maximum hourly LPG usage (23.5
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gallons/hour) multiplied by the AP-42 emission
factor for LPG propane combustion 0.5 lb organic
compounds/1000 gallons of LPG.
(ii) organic emissions from the resin shall be the
maximum hourly resin loading (25 pounds/hour)
multiplied by an afterburner destruction efficiency
of 99% (1 - 0.99).
(iii) organic emissions from the wax shall be the
maximum hourly wax loading (91 pounds/hour)
multiplied by an afterburner destruction efficiency
of 99% (1 - 0.99).
(iv) the total hourly organic compound emissions
shall be the sum of (i), (ii), and (iii) above.

i. Emission Limitation -
2.11 TPY organic compounds

Applicable Compliance Method -
Compliance shall be determined by multiplying the
hourly organic compound limit of 1.17 lbs/hour by
the annual hours of operation, divided by 2,000
pounds per ton.

j. Emission Limitation -
5% opacity visible emissions, as a six-minute
average

Applicable Compliance Method -
Compliance shall be determined by visible emission
evaluations performed in accordance with OAC rule
3745-17-03(B)(1) using the methods and procedures
specified in USEPA Reference Method 9.


